EI asks the best of the energy sector to step forward

Windmills 984137 1920

10 May 2016


The Energy Institute (EI) is inviting individuals and organisations to enter its annual energy awards competition to receive recognition of their achievements from a prestigious panel of their peers. The deadline for submissions is Tuesday, 31 May 2016.

The energy sector as a whole is vital to society. It does a huge amount of good work which needs to be celebrated and shouted about. The EI Awards recognise the highest level of commitment to serving society and outstanding achievements within the energy sector.

Lynda Armstrong OBE FEI, Chair of Trustees, British Safety Council, and Chair of the EI Awards’ judging panel, says, ‘The EI Awards are a great opportunity to showcase a wide variety of projects across the whole spectrum of the energy sector. They illustrate the vibrancy of the industry and its ability to innovate to meet the challenges of today. The more we can communicate and celebrate the positive stories in our sector, the better profile it will have with the public at large.’

Last year’s Energy Champion award winner, Kate Simpson, Assistant Carbon Management Consultant, Grontmij, adds, ‘These awards are really important for the industry. People work really hard in their jobs. The energy industry has a huge part to play in society, particularly with some of the challenges we have at the moment with climate change and energy security. It is important to celebrate the good work, the creative work, and the exciting things that are happening.’

The award categories are:

Communication – covering the best example of effective communications with stakeholders such as customers, regulators, employees and shareholders.

Community Initiative, sponsored by Nexen – recognising projects instigated for the benefit of communities or communities undertaking their own energy initiatives.

Energy Champion – acknowledging commitment to professionalism, raising standards and/or championing the industry. Entrants can be self-nominated or put forward by a colleague.

Energy Excellence, sponsored by PDVSA – goes to those outstanding projects that showcase fresh thinking and which may lie outside the other categories.

Environment – including projects and products where sustainability and environmental considerations are central.

Innovation – looking for breakthroughs in technology that are still in the research and development stage of the project/product.

Safety, sponsored by Shell – considering the most impressive new step towards improving safety in the energy sector.

Technology – distinguishing new technological developments or implementation of existing technology in a pioneering way.

Young Energy Professional of the Year – celebrating the contribution, innovation and passion of the next generation of energy talent.

Will you be one of the 2016 winners? Join the EI’s quest for excellence and enter this year’s awards competition. Visit the EI website to read the judging criteria and tips for helping to submit a successful entry.

This article first appeared on the Energy Institute Media Centre site on 23 March 2016.

Related Articles