Screenshot 2019 11 20 at 23 42 18

Celebrating engineering visionaries
Inspiring creative minds

The Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering (QEPrize) champions bold,
groundbreaking engineering innovation which is of global benefit to humanity.

Down arrow to next section

The 2021 QEPrize is awarded to the creators of LED lighting

LED stock image

The Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering has been awarded to Isamu Akasaki, Shuji Nakamura, Nick Holonyak Jr, M. George Craford and Russell Dupuis for their work on LED lighting.


Trophy BW047

Create the Trophy

The 2021 Create the Trophy competition winner is Hannah Goldsmith, age 20, from the UK.

News and Features


QEPrize Ambassadors

Are you an early-career engineer with a passion for inspiring the next generation? Become a QEPrize Ambassador and join our global community.

Subscribe for the latest QEPrize news

The month’s most exciting engineering stories and updates from the QEPrize team, direct to your inbox.

The QEPrize does not share or sell your personal information. Please see our Privacy Policy for more details.
* indicates a required field