Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering launches 2022 cycle with call for nominations

Alain pham P qvs F7 Yodw unsplash 2

Categories: QEPrize

Photo by Alain Pham on Unsplash

5 May 2021


The Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering (QEPrize) has today commenced its search for the next recipients of the world’s most prestigious engineering accolade with the opening of its public nominations window.

The QEPrize is open to nominations for engineers from anywhere in the world and is awarded to up to five engineers responsible for a bold, groundbreaking engineering innovation of global benefit to humanity.

Now awarded annually, reflecting the rapid pace of engineering innovation, the QEPrize exists to celebrate the critical role that engineering plays across society, and to honour the engineers who have changed the world through their work. Nominations are open to all engineers across all sectors of engineering, wherever they practise, who embody this spirit of innovation.

Lord Browne of Madingley, Chairman of the Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering Foundation, said “The global pandemic has demonstrated just how rapidly the work of engineers can have a widespread and demonstrable impact on our lives. As the nature of engineering and society’s expectations of engineering continue to evolve, so too does the QEPrize. Our move to an annual award reflects this pace of change. It will enable us to celebrate the pinnacle of engineering achievement, and to honour more engineers whose work improves the lives of so many people around the world.”

Professor Dame Lynn Gladden, Chair of the QEPrize Judging Panel added “We want to recognise the diversity of today’s global engineering world. It is a diversity not only of individual engineers, but also of a breadth of ideas, creativity and collaboration which drive engineering forward. We encourage and welcome nominations from around the world which truly showcase the very best of contemporary engineering.”

The QEPrize recognises the pace of innovation around the world and is calling for the full diversity of the contemporary engineering community to be reflected in the nominations. Collaboration in engineering continues to improve billions of lives, and the QEPrize looks forward to spotlighting those individuals who are driving improvements for all humanity.

This year’s nominations window will remain open until 23:59 BST on 31 July 2021. All nominations will be assessed by an independent international judging panel comprised of world-leading experts in their respective fields. The winner(s) will be announced on 1 February 2022. The only limitations are that self-nomination and posthumous nomination are not allowed.

Make a nomination

Related Articles